120 N. 6th Street
Dawn Tiura and Steve Gustafson are the current owners of this c.1876 residence built by Josiah Prescott, a pioneer shoe dealer. Prescott served as a second lieutenant during the occupation of Fernandina during the Civil War and later owned Boot and Shoe Store in the building that became the Palace Saloon in 1903. Originally the home consisted of two rooms on the first floor and two rooms on the second floor connected by a side hallway and stairway. After many additions this elegant and spacious home delights the eyes with gingerbread spindle work, ornamented veranda, bay windows and fine Chinese Chippendale balustrade.
19 South 6th Street
Dr. Hal London is the fifth owner of this c.1900 two story frame residence with tiered porches, a centrally located chimney and Queen Anne influences. Dr. London purchased and remodeled the home in 2013 to serve as his personal residence as well as his private medical practice. There are two patient rooms with crystal chandeliers, a waiting room and separate entrance for his clients. The trio of windows in the front gable are a nineteenth century adaptation of eighteenth century Palladian windows. The interior features heart pine floors, stained glass windows and unique decorative touches designed by the owner.
221 N. 3rd Street
Lisa and Mark Ballew are the owners of this c.1903 2 1/2 story Victorian home originally built for Walter Courter, a local hardware store owner, and his bride, Mildred Downs, the daughter of a river pilot from Old Town. The wrap around front porch caught Lisa’s eye and is now “the ultimate Southern porch” with a rope swing and wicker seating arrangements. Fascinating antiques as well as Gone with the Wind memorabilia from Lisa’s family fill the interior. The 2017 Holiday Home Tour Collectible Ornament will feature this lovely home.
214 South 7th Street
This historic home was built in 1889 by Samuel A. Swann for $10,000 as the residence of his son, Donovan Swann, a talented artist. In 1907 it was sold to D.A. Kelly for $3,500. He and his brother owned and ran a prosperous ship’s chandlery at Centre and 2nd. Mr. Kelly, his wife, “Miss Dora”, and their sons, Dan and Redmond lived there for many years. Today Nancy Rossiter owns this outstanding example of Queen Anne architecture with a wide variety of windows, shingle designs and elaborate trim. A series of stained glass windows may be seen from the outside marking the stairway to the second floor.
126 S. 4th Street
Maurie Dugger’s c.1891 home was one of a row of shotgun houses near the turn of the century…possibly homes for railroad workers. Originally it had three small rooms – a kitchen, living room and bedroom. Previous owners made a number of changes including enlarging the kitchen and living areas and adding a separate guest house. Today this one story bungalow offers a covered, screened sunporch, a white picket fence around the front yard and a large coral hibiscus.
506 Cedar Street
Melony Austin and Art Adams have kindly offered to open their historic home. This 2 story wood framed vernacular residence has cross gables and a hip roof. Records show that an Edward F. Langley purchased the lot in 1888 for $250. Discrepancies exist over the time of the home’s construction. Early maps show no dwelling on the lot until 1903 although Webb’s City Directory of 1901 indicates that three men were then living at this address – the owner of a smithing business on Front Street, a machinist and a section boss. It is believed that this blacksmith, Walter Godfrey, along with his wife, Lizzie, raised their six children here.